SF Hep B Free Support Group

Jaundice how long?

I have been newly diagnosed with hepatitis B chronic. I was a generally healthy adult male at 24 years old. Have a good family a stable job and a very good support group. I’ve noticed symptoms about last year and decided to get checked out this year and it was said I acquired this at birth. I was adopted from Russia at 2 years old back in ‘96. It didn’t surprise me that this is how I acquired this disease, but shocked me as my life as I know it has been flipped upside down. I was wondering when my eyes will return back to white. I have very mild jaundice and have been on Tenofovir for about 3 weeks now. Does this ever occur? I watch what I eat and ingest. I’m an EMT as a volunteer and my 8-5 job’s stress is moderate. I just want to know if the the sclera of my eyes will ever be white again? Thank you.

1 Like

Hi ch1ckens96,

Thanks for sharing your story. I am glad you were able to catch your chronic hepatits B early. Most patients who catch the virus early and begin treatment and management go on to live full healthy lives.
I was able to consult some of our experts who indicated that jaundice, which is caused by elevated bilirubin levels in your body, can cause the whites of your eyes and your skin to turn yellow. Hepatitis B can cause elevated bilirubin through liver injury and this is likely why you were started on antiviral medication three weeks ago. Tenofovir is an antiviral medication that will gradually lower your virus levels, liver inflammation tests, and bilirubin to normal levels. Once your bilirubin normalizes, the yellow color of your eyes should turn back to white. Please feel free to check in with us if you have any other questions or concerns. We are here for you.

Best,
Richard